DISCOVER QUEENBOROUGH



Queenborough is a sleepy harbour town which evolved from a small Saxon settlement. However,   Edward III had the town renamed after his Queen, Philippa of Hainault. The Queenborough Castle was built and completed in 1368 by the King to guard the passage of ships along the Swale. Sadly nothing remains now except perhaps its spirit, as in 1650 it was demolished on Parliamentary direction.  A plaque commemorates the spot. During this period, Queenborough was an important town for the export of wool, a significant crown revenue.  However, smuggling or avoiding the payment of taxes for import or export became a widespread activity.
 
In 1667 the Dutch captured and invaded Queenborough.  The occupation lasted only a few days and though the Dutch caused widespread panic, they were unable to maintain their offensive
 
During the 17th century the population was chiefly employed in the local oyster fishery and thereafter many generations found survival difficult and was reduced to a state of starvation when the tyrannical Mayor Greet seized control of the town’s oyster beds


Queenborourg 1830
Queenborough still reflects something of its original 18th century seafaring history.  Admiral Lord Nelson is reputed to have learnt much of his seafaring skills in these waters and also shared a house near the small harbour with his mistress, the Lady Hamilton.
 
Today the Harbour offers an all tide landing and mooring between the Thames and Medway.

 

Walking the Plank competition in Queenborough - one of the many festivals to be found on Isle of Sheppey.

Rushenden is an outlying area of Queenborough. However a significant regeneration project is under way, including new housing, a marina and light industry which will dovetail with the best of the local heritage





SHEPPEY TOURISM ALLIANCE, BLUE TOWN HERITAGE CENTRE, HIGH STREET, SHEERNESS, KENT ME12 1RW
TEL. 01795 662981 EMAIL sheppeyta@hotmail.co.uk
Community Web Kit provided free by BT